Our Father, Who is in Heaven (2008)


Jean Delville, The School of Plato

 

Our Father, Who is in Heaven

I pray your dust. Bury myself

To be born, bleed

My lungs to sing you a

Love song, Our Father, who is

In Heaven, rosary grains and vinegar

You ask me to drink.

 

Our Father, Who is in Heaven,

You come not for peace, with a

Jack knife to slice my liver. In its cells

All my visions, intuitions, holy temptations, no more

Than veils to an onion. Undress, the

Weeping core only leave

A believer. I believe in the void, Our Father,

Who is in Heaven, love I you.

 

Our Father, Who is in Heaven,

You ask me to burn my self and

Let the ashes bury

The ashes. You ask me to peel

My body and what been

I have, you ask me not

To know my face anymore. You kill me, Our Father, Who

Is in Heaven, because to love you

I

Must be not, no more my

Bones, my creed, my past must I discern

For you. You ask me to forget, My Father,

Who is in Heaven. He who forgets he dies,

He who dies shall live. He who dies will forget he lives, he who lives

Remember to die. Your hands, bloody,

On my breast

To extirpate my heart. How it hurts, Our Father, to

Love you and it hurts, Our Father for

You and I

Love

Me.

 

Michelangelo, The Creation of Adam

Leave a Reply

