To Scott, Fall 1919

‘[…] All I want is to be very young always and very irresponsible and to feel that my life is my own – to live and be happy and die in my own way – to please myself […]. And Scott, Darlin’, don’t try so hard to convince yourself that we’re very old people who’ve lost their most precious possession. We really haven’t found it yet – and only weaklings like the St. Paul girl you told me about who lack courage and the power to feel they’re right when the whole world says they’re wrong, ever lose – All the fire and sweetness – the emotional strength that we’re capable of is growing – growing and just because sanity and wisdom are growing too and we’re building our love castle on a firm foundation, nothing is lost – that first abandon couldn’t last, but the things that went to make it  are tremendously alive – just like blowing bubbles – they burst, but more bubbles just as beautiful can be blown – and burst – till the soap and water is gone – and that’s the way we’ll be, I guess – so don’t mourn for a poor little forlorn, wonderful memory when we’ve got each other – because I know I love you – and you’ll come in January to tell me that you do – and we won’t worry anymore about anything […].’

Leave a Reply

